Wonder how God makes a way for me to give thanks in this thing?

Hi, spiritual family.  You all know that scripture that says “in all things give thanks”.  Well, something happened last night that has me saying to God, “I know what Your word tells me to do, but help me know how to give thanks for this!”

You see, Pastor G and I live in Arizona, and there are many bugs and their relatives that, to put it mildly, I do not get along with.  To put it bluntly, I hate bugs and want nothing to do with them.  That’s unavoidable, but that’s still my heartfelt desire.  So far this summer, we’ve had to deal with an unexplainable indoor fly infestation, and Pastor G has had to deal with these caterpillar things that later become moths after they attack his garden and consume the plant life he works so hard to preserve and help flourish.  So, my dear husband has busied himself plucking those icky green things off his plants, and I have been shooing flies from our home.  They seem to be attracted to our back door, so there’s a lot of opening and closing to let the flies be happy outside.

We have more insect life that somehow make their way into our home.  Once Pastor G captured and cast out as gently as he could a very pregnant roach whose kids would have wreaked their havoc in our home.  Last night, I was turning down the covers, and a very swift gecko left the mattress bedding and escaped to only the gecko knows where.  We searched for it with a flashlight to no avail.  It’s probably still here somewhere waiting to make its move and scare the dickens out of yours truly again.  So how do I give thanks for the gecko?

Pray with me:  Father God, Your word says to give thanks in all things, but this one has me baffled.  I suppose I could thank you that I didn’t pass out when I saw the gecko.  I suppose I could thank You for granting me a good night’s sleep despite the gecko experience.  Thanks for helping me work this through, and please keep those geckos out of my home!  In Jesus’ name, amen.

1 Thessalonians 5:18 (NKJV)

18 in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

 

copyright 2016, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

 

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are anointed and ordained by God to help believers endure to the end and to help believers live His love.
This entry was posted in challenge, following Jesus, humor, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

