Moving forward can be tough, but God always makes a way

Sometimes, I feel stuck.  Perhaps you do, too.  My life tends to be filled with “same old, same old” as I go about the Father’s business.  Sure, we, God and I, have a lot in common, since maintaining our planet is probably same old, same old with Him as can be hearing the problems, complaints, and excuses we all have and face.

For years, God has had me be His witness as to what it means to follow Jesus and live His way on various sites.  Not only do I need to be respectful in the face of smug superiority and verbal abuse from unbelievers, I also have to face believers who seek to destroy the unity that is Christ.  Some are from the Catholic fellowship and look down their noses at anyone who isn’t part of what they think is the true church:theirs.  I get accused of sowing lies and discord when the finger needs to be pointed inward.  Some are from fellowships that have veered away from the truth of God’s word by ordaining gay spiritual leaders and performing so-called same sex marriage, saying God approves of what they do and that it is I who am filled with hate, bigotry and prejudice.  God knows my heart and how false these judgments and accusations are, but I still need to address them in the hope that the words He writes through me may indeed change a person’s life so that he can return to living within Godly parameters.  So I sigh along with God.

I realize these experiences are part of “be careful what you ask for, you might get it!”  Pastor G and I have long prayed that we know what God deals with and faces.  And so, in my surely limited way, I do.

Today, God placed two well-known scriptures to help me cope with stuff, and I pray that these scriptures minister to you as well.

Philippians 4:13 (NIV)

13 I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

How I groaned when God reminded me that I was not relying on His power and strength but my own.  Noted, Lord, and thanks!

2 Corinthians 12:10(NIV)

10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

Again, not my power and strength, Lord, but Yours.  God’s way works.  Now, if only I would get out of His way!

Let’s pray:  Father God, thanks for helping me to see how powerless I am without You.  Thanks for helping me to see that, without you, I set myself up to fail at the task You set before me.  Thanks for equipping me with all that I need to do Your will regardless of any challenge or barrier.  You are the One who can best any challenge and remove any barrier.  You are the One who grants spiritual boldness when appropriate as well as the words to utter when You have a point to make.  Thanks for being active in my life and for constantly growing me spiritually so that I be of continuing, further use to You where You work.  In Jesus’ name, amen.

copyright 2015, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are anointed and ordained by God to help believers endure to the end and to help believers live His love.
This entry was posted in abuse, being spirit-led, Christian meditation, coping with weariness, following Jesus and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

