Forgiveness is tough, but God always makes a way

Boy, do I know how tough forgiveness is!  And do I know how impossible it is to forgive without God’s help and power.  Just like only He can change a mind once hostile to Him into one that avidly seeks to know Him and His way, He can also change an unforgiving mind into a merciful, forgiving one.  I know.  God did that when I knew I could forgive my mother, one of my abusers.  Without His engineering a situation for what I thought was impossible to happen, I probably would be in a state of unforgiveness to this day.  And I would be in real danger of not being regularly forgiven by Him because Jesus said that if we don’t forgive those who have sinned against us, God won’t forgive our sins.  I truly need that forgiveness and am grateful to the God who makes all things possible and makes all things, even abuse, work for the good of those who love Him.

 

The other day, God presented me with another unforgiveness challenge.  My father in law seems to have changed his harsh, judgmental attitude towards the work God has given my husband and me to do.  We got a note the other day giving his wishes that our ministry will continue to change lives, and he even added a contribution while saying that he would send more as he is able.  Wow! To say that my husband and I are floored is an understatement!

 

Now, I know I need God’s help to release those bad feelings about my father in law that I’ve lived with these many years.  I’ve often wondered how Corrie ten Boom could extend the hand of forgiveness to the former Nazi prison camp guard who approached her in a spirit of wanting to reconcile and begin again as brother and sister in Christ.  That was another miraculous transformation of a mind.  Anyway, now I appear to be faced with a similar transformation and need help letting go.  Just like He helped me with my mother’s situation, I know God will intervene here with yours truly.

 

Pray with me:  Father God, thanks for showing me how present You are in people’s lives and relationships.  Thanks for showing us all how minds can be truly transformed to reach out in Your love and reconciliation.  Thanks for helping me and all who read this post to yield to Your transforming power and become spiritually free from unforgiveness or anything else that stands in the way of our growing in our walk with You now and for eternity.  In Jesus’ name, amen.

 

May God help you to release unforgiveness in your life so that you can move forward in His love and peace.

 

copyright 2014, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are ordained spiritual leaders and skilled, trained Christian counselors who have been God's instruments in making a difference in many believers' lives. God has led us to write an emotional and spiritual recovery workbook for Christians that's been widely praised by respected spiritual leaders like Joni Eareckson Tada. Contact us if you want a copy. We have just a few left from the second printing.
This entry was posted in abuse, abuse recovery, challenge, change, Christian meditation, Christian teaching, christian testimony, forgiveness, living God's way, obedience, spiritual coping tool and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Forgiveness is tough, but God always makes a way

  1. secretangel says:

    Forgiveness is not easy… but all things are possible through Christ. God bless you!!

Leave a Reply

