When life gets tough, God gives you scriptures to live by

No doubt about it, life can get very tough.  You can become ill, lose your job, lose your home or lose your precious feeling of being safe.  Seems like you are always in crisis mode.  It’s at times like these that you need to anchor yourself to God even more than you do every day.  You need to ask His help to make it through and trust Him to answer.  He does.  He never fails.

When my life gets tough, there are a number of scriptures that come to mind.  It is my prayer that they give you as much comfort and encouragement as they give me.

Psalm 23 is filled with peace and spiritual and emotional security.  It lets me know that, no matter what’s going on in my life, God is there to guide, protect and bless me.

Psalm 23 (NKJV)

A Psalm of David.

23 The Lord is my shepherd;
I shall not want.
He makes me to lie down in green pastures;
He leads me beside the still waters.
He restores my soul;
He leads me in the paths of righteousness
For His name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil;
For You are with me;
Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
You anoint my head with oil;
My cup runs over.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
All the days of my life;
And I will dwell in the house of the Lord
Forever.

Romans 8:28 gives God’s promise that He will work all situations in my life for the good.  Many have been the times that I prayed, “Father, I don’t know how You are going to do it, but You promise to work this out for my good somehow.  Help me to hang in there until You do just that”.  God always keeps His promises.

Romans 8:28

New King James Version (NKJV)

28 And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose

 

Matthew 6:33 literally sustained us during a period of hunger and homelessness.  Praise God for taking care of our needs and praise Jesus for telling us not to worry about the how and when.

 

Matthew 6:33 (NKJV)

33 But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you.

 

I am sorry if life is tough for you right now.  May God grant you comfort and peace as you slog through your tough time.

 

Let’s Pray

Father God, thanks for being with me always.  Thanks especially for sticking close during my life’s tough times and being my anchor during them.  Help me to know that, no matter what’s going on, You have it covered.  Grant me what I need to be able to endure,  and that includes Your peace that passes understanding.  Thanks in advance for working all these bad things for my good like You word promises.  You know I love You and look forward to being with You for eternity.  In Jesus’ name, amen.

copyright 2014, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

 

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are ordained spiritual leaders and skilled, trained Christian counselors who have been God's instruments in making a difference in many believers' lives. God has led us to write an emotional and spiritual recovery workbook for Christians that's been widely praised by respected spiritual leaders like Joni Eareckson Tada. Contact us if you want a copy. We have just a few left from the second printing.
This entry was posted in bible study, challenge, Christian meditation, Christian teaching, coping with grief, coping with loneliness, coping with sickness, coping with weariness, discouraged, living God's way, obedience, persecution, prayer, psalm 23, rely on God, spiritual encouragement, submit to God and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When life gets tough, God gives you scriptures to live by

  1. Ron Whited says:

    Wonderful post! It reminded me of a time when I was abandoned and left for dead along the side of the road.In my grief I would literally walk through my house with my bible open to Romans 8:28 and demand to know of God how this could be possible after what had happened to me.The pain was so unbearable that I often thought of taking my life to escape it.

    Yet true to His word,He came through for me! I now have a home centered on the love of Christ and have come to know Him more intimately than I ever thought possible.

    I encourage anyone who may be struggling to hold on in the midst of your great storm.The Peace Speaker knows everything you’re feeling and He will in no wise cast you out!

    Ron

    • Again, thanks for sharing, Ron. I am so glad God intervened and made all those terrible things work for your good in His time. When you think about it, that’s part of what enduring to the end is about. Holding on tight to God during those tough times.

Leave a Reply

