Living God’s promises can be tough, but He makes a way

God gave us promises in His word to encourage us to keep moving forward in our walk with Him.  Pastor G and I know how good a thing that is because our hardship list looks somewhat like the Apostle Paul’s.  No, we haven’t been shipwrecked or physically beaten or tortured,  but we have experienced the pain of spiritual rejection and betrayal along with the very real physical reality of hunger and homelessness.  Because others who said they are His wouldn’t follow His lead, we had to endure that season of suffering.

I truly pray you will never have to endure what we did, but chances are that people will let you down, circumstances will seem momentarily unbearable, and life will become incredibly hard at some point.  Perhaps you will face long term unemployment and the financial losses associated with that.  Perhaps you will lose your health due to illness, or perhaps there will be an accident that renders you disabled and changes your life as you have known it.  Perhaps the loss will be relational through death, divorce or betrayal.

It’s at times like those that we find ourselves turning to God as our anchor, protector, sustainer and provider.  And, we have His promises to hold close to our hearts in faith that He will do what He said He will do.  Even when things seem impossible, God always makes a way.  What’s impossible for us is not impossible for God.  Many are living proof.  Pastor G and I are, that’s for sure.  Like I keep saying, God always makes a way.

Promise Scripture:  Romans 8:28

28 And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.

Let’s Pray

Father God, thanks for the promises in Your word.  Along with other attributes, You are surely the God of Encouragement.  Help me to hold Your words of encouragement close to my heart as I slog through each day and its seemingly endless challenges.  I know this awareness of Your promises is part of You equipping me to handle what I need to, and I thank You for taking up where I leave off, for I surely have my human limits.  But, You know that.  Jesus personally knows that because He lived in the flesh for over 30 years.  How fitting that today’s promise comes from Your teaching.  Help me to give to You, my Lord and my God, the things that I cannot  do on my own so I am free to be and do what You have for me to be and do regardless of circumstances.  Thanks for making all things work for my good.  I may not even begin to see how You will do that now, but I know You are true to Your word, Your promises.  In Your name Jesus, I say, amen.

Things to Think, Pray and Journal About

1.  Have you experienced a situation that seemed impossible for you and trusted God to resolve it?  What happened?

2.  Have you tried to “fix” a tough situation yourself only to keep running into greater difficulty?  Did you ever turn to God for help?  What happened?

3.  In spite of personal hardship and circumstances, have you waited for God to work those things for your good?  What happened?  Was God true to His promise?

copyright 2014, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are anointed and ordained by God to help believers endure to the end and to help believers live His love.
This entry was posted in being a disciple of Christ, betrayal, challenge, change, Christian meditation, Christian teaching, coping with change, living God's way, overwhelmed, prayer, rely on God, serenity prayer living, spiritual encouragement, spiritual teaching, Submission, submit to God and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

