Spiritual maturity is tough, but God makes a way

Very early in life, Jesus knew the difference between His fleshly and heavenly fathers and whose agenda He chose to follow above all else.  He was both spirit-filled and spirit-led.  Just before He began His active ministry, He was tempted by the devil with food to satisfy His physical hunger (He had been fasting), and He was offered power and authority He did not yet have.  He still chose to look at the Father and what the Father wanted Him to do and be, and He rejected satan’s attempts to stop His ministry even before it started.  Turn to Matthew 4 for more details.

God wants your choice to be as clear as Jesus’ was.  May you ask Him to remove all doubt and obstacles to your being about His business.

Scripture:  Luke 3:49

And He said to them, “Why is it that you sought Me?  Did you not know that I must be about My Father’s business?”

Let’s Pray

Father God, thanks for calling me to be part of Your kingdom and work.  Teach me to become more like Jesus so I can follow Him to be and do what You called me to be and do.  Help me to let go of the things that block my spiritual growth.  And help me to embrace the thoughts and feelings that will make me a successful disciple.  In Jesus’ name, amen.

Things to Think, Pray and Journal About

1.  Have you ever faced a choice where one seemed easily handed to you on a silver platter and the other required personal diligence and perhaps pain and sacrifice?  Which did you choose?

2.  Just how important is the kingdom of God to you?  Is it worth giving up your physical life if necessary?

3.  Have you ever been so hungry and thirsty to learn about God and all that He is that all other things faded into the background?

copyright 2014, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are ordained spiritual leaders and skilled, trained Christian counselors who have been God's instruments in making a difference in many believers' lives. God has led us to write an emotional and spiritual recovery workbook for Christians that's been widely praised by respected spiritual leaders like Joni Eareckson Tada. Contact us if you want a copy. We have just a few left from the second printing.
This entry was posted in being a disciple of Christ, being spirit-led, bible study, Christian meditation, Christian teaching, living God's way, prayer, spiritual maturity, Submission, the Holy Spirit and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spiritual maturity is tough, but God makes a way

  1. camary1996 says:

    I just did a blog on this subject. I guess God is trying to tell us something…like we had betta all grow up in Him! God bless you!

    • Thanks for visiting our blog www.https://lifeistoughbutgodalwaysmakesaway.wordpress.com and for your comment. Have you noticed that God works through a number of us on a topic at about the same time? It’s amazing to see what He does and how He does it. Look forward to your return visits and comments.

      • pnissila says:

        I just found your site through another that I follow. I love it that you two minister together in this counseling arena.

        The specific reason I am commenting here is to respond to your statement, “Have you noticed that God works through a number of us on a topic at about the same time?”

        My sister and I have been talking about this. Lately, for us, three themes are current: the need to “prepare our lamps,” as it were, like the “wise virgins,” as the Bridegroom is near; the need to encourage each other of “the remnant,” i.e., those of us who have left several institutional churches that have gone the way of the “Emergent Church,” and other assemblies that seem to have left classic, Bible-based Christian tenets; and the ways and wiles of our spiritual enemy who seems to be ramping up activity as the days grow darker.

        God bless you for your generous ministry, here. I have read through several of your posts and there are several more I will also read.

        To my contribution, if you will, to encouraging “the remnant” (that’s my function in the Body–an encourager), here is a post of my own: http://pnissila.wordpress.com/2014/04/20/on-the-loneliness-of-the-remnant-comfort-and-encouragement/ I was inspired to write it because of another brother in Christ “out there” who was also impressed to address this issue. And I have seen other references to this topic, too, here and there.

        I signed up to follow your ministry writings. I have also written on “spiritual survival” and related topics of comfort, encouragement, and “tools” to help us all. I think one way God is “gathering us together” in these days when one can no longer trust traditional assemblies is through this invention called the Internet. At least while it may last.

        Blessings.

      • I just read your post and commented at length there. We, too, share many spiritual coping tools on this blog and http://www.christiancounselorpastor.wordpress.com
        I agree that the internet has provided what Henry Blackaby calls “divine appointments” with those who need spiritual comfort and encouragement. Praise God that you are here for them just like Pastor G and I are.

        Thanks for the follow. I am following you as well.

        Hugs and blessings,
        Pastor Sharon

Leave a Reply

