Care giving is tough, but God makes a way, #2

Jesus is our friend indeed!  He wants us to share our burdens and even give them to Him and, in return, He wants us to share and bear His, which He says are lighter.  Could it be that they are lighter because He has already overcome the world and its burdens?  Could it be that, because of His victory, we also have the victory in whatever challenge we face?

Sometimes you feel like you just can’t give anything else or go on any more and that no one understands what you are going through.  Jesus knows how you feel and wants you to follow His example (to learn from Him).  His ministry was very demanding.  People constantly thronged Him for His healing touch and other miracles, and His disciples and the crowds, who were either sincerely interested or frankly curious, wanted to hear what He had to say.  When He couldn’t give anymore, He went to a quiet place to pray alone.  (See Matthew 14:23)

Encouraging Scripture:  Matthew 11:28-30

Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For My yoke is easy and my burden is light.

Let’s Pray

Father God, being a care giver is something I want to do, but it can drain, depress and overwhelm me.  Please grant me the balance I need to be able to give what the one in my care needs while administering to my own needs as well.  Help me to look at my tasks, and help me to divide them into manageable ones.  Help me to grasp what is essential and what can be put off to another time.  Help me to be kind to myself and take some time for me without feeling guilty about leaving the one I care for.  Thanks for providing all that I need to be able to do and be that is essential for me to do and be.  Without You help, intervention, blessing and encouragement, things would be hard to bear indeed.  Thanks for being with me always.  In Jesus’ name, amen.

Things to Think, Pray and Journal About

1.  Each day, do you take time to share your heart and burdens with Godin prayer?  How do you feel afterwards?

2.  Did you know God can send ministering angels to you Just like He sent them to Jesus?  See Matthew 4:11

copyright 2014, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

 

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are anointed and ordained by God to help believers endure to the end and to help believers live His love.
This entry was posted in bible study, care giving, Christian meditation, devotional, discouraged, living God's way, living spiritually, overwhelmed, serenity prayer living, spiritual encouragement, weariness and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

