Care giving is tough, but God makes a way

God is pleased with your acts of love and service.  He knows you give of yourself with your whole heart, and He knows sometimes you feel downright burdened and overwhelmed.

God wants you to take care of your own needs, too.  Did it occur to you that if you don’t take care of your own needs for rest and recreation, you can’t really love your neighbor like you want to because you are so stressed?  Taking time for yourself isn’t selfish.  It’s loving, both to you, because you get a much-needed break, and to the one you care for because you will be refreshed and better able to serve his or her needs.  So, please, take some time and do something special for yourself, whatever that means to you.

Encouraging Scripture:  Matthew 25:37-40

Then the righteous will answer Him, saying, “Lord, when did we see You hungry and feed You, or thirsty and Give You drink?  When did we see You a stranger and take You in, or naked and clothed You?   Or when did we see You sick a, or in prison, and come to You?  And the King will answer and say to them, “Assuredly I say to you, inasmuch as you did it to one of the least of these My brothers, you did it to Me.”

Let’s Pray

Father God, I am a care giver, and I need You to strengthen me so I can do and be all that the one I care for need me to do and be.  Sometimes, I get so very tired, and I can’t take a break because of the demands before me.  You strengthened and encouraged Jesus, and Jesus sent the Holy Spirit to strengthen and encourage us.  I ask You, Jesus and the Holy Spirit to be with me daily as I care for the one You put in my path.  Grant me all that I need to be able to accomplish what needs to be done, and empower me with Your love so that anger and frustration don’t get expressed even though I might feel that way.  Instead, let me live Your law of love and truly treat this disabled one the way I would like to be treated myself.  In Jesus’ name, amen.

Things to Think and Pray About

1.  Do you ask God daily to give you whatever you need so you can be the care giver you need to be?

2.  Have you asked God to provide rest and recreation so you can be a more effective care giver and so you can love yourself better?

copyright 2014, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are ordained spiritual leaders and skilled, trained Christian counselors who have been God's instruments in making a difference in many believers' lives. God has led us to write an emotional and spiritual recovery workbook for Christians that's been widely praised by respected spiritual leaders like Joni Eareckson Tada. Contact us if you want a copy. We have just a few left from the second printing.
This entry was posted in care giving, Christian meditation, Christian teaching, coping with loneliness, coping with weariness, discouraged, living God's way, overwhelmed, prayer, rely on God, serenity prayer living, spiritual encouragement, spiritual teaching, weariness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

