Grief is tough, but God makes a way, #2

God gave Solomon the gift of wisdom, and Ecclesiastes 3:1-2 &4 sure shows it!  Yours is now a season of weeping and mourning, but, at the right time for you, those will be changed to laughter and dance.  Please let yourself feel what you’re feeling.  It’s the only way to truly break free from grief.  If you’re angry, let yourself yell and hit a pillow.  If you’re sad, let yourself express that sadness by crying, sighing or any other way that doesn’t hurt you or others.  Above all, don’t let anyone, however well-meaning, tell you to stop grieving.  Don’t let them take your grief away from you!  You’ve been hurt, and it’s okay to express your grief in healthy ways so that your hurting heart can recover from this loss.

Sadly, many church cultures frown upon expressing grief.  They forget Jesus wept at Lazarus’ tomb.  Jesus is our example who lived a sinless life.  If He cried, so can you!

Encouraging Scripture:  Ecclesiastes 3:1-2, 4

To every thing there is a season, a time for every purpose under heaven:  A time to be born, and a time to die;  A time to plant, and a time tp pluck what is planted;  A time to weep, and a time to laugh;  A time to mourn, and a time to dance.

Let’s Pray

Father God, please help me to express and experience all the stages of grieving so that I can break free from my grief to move on to be and do what You have for me to be and do.  I know that I need Your help, comfort , encouragement and support to do the things I want to do but cannot on my own.  Help me to face difficult decisions and choices before me, and please send comforters and encouragers across my path who truly know how to comfort and encourage.  Help me to express my needs, which I understand may vary daily or even more often because of the crazy instability of grief.  Help me to love myself, to be kind and gentle to myself.  Help me to live the serenity prayer, and grant me the wisdom to know the difference between what I can do myself and what I can’t do.  In Jesus’ name, amen.

Things to Think, Pray and Journal About

1.  Can you ask God to help you forgive your loved one for leaving you?

2.  Have you shared your powerful emotions with God and asked Him to help you work through your grief and sorrow so you can recover?

copyright 2014, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are ordained spiritual leaders and skilled, trained Christian counselors who have been God's instruments in making a difference in many believers' lives. God has led us to write an emotional and spiritual recovery workbook for Christians that's been widely praised by respected spiritual leaders like Joni Eareckson Tada. Contact us if you want a copy. We have just a few left from the second printing.
This entry was posted in bible study, Christian meditation, Christian teaching, coping with grief, forgiveness, God's love, grieving, living God's way, prayer, rely on God, serenity prayer living, spiritual coping tool, spiritual encouragement and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

