Living God’s love is tough, but God makes a way

The Apostle Paul was extremely well-educated, and he was greatly blessed with spiritual gifts.  Yet, he realized he was incomplete.  God inspired him to write for us to see, that without God’s love, God’s character, we cannot be and do what God wants us to be and do with a right attitude.  Examples of works like charity and sacrifice are given but are said to be literally meaningless if there’s no love behind it.  The gift of prophecy cannot be rightly exercised without Godly love present.

Love needs to be the core of all we are and do.  If not, something’s seriously and spiritually wrong.

Scripture: 1 Corinthians 13:1-3, 13

Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I have become as sounding brass or a clanging cymbal.  And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and though I have faith, so that I could remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing.  And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, but have not love, it profits me nothing.  And now abide faith, hope love, these three;  but the greatest of these is love.

Let’s Pray

Father God, help me to understand what You mean by Great Commandment Living.  I know that You are love and that You created us to be love as You are, so help me to grow in grace and knowledge to be transformed into love from the inside out.  Fill me with Your love so that I can treat those You send across my path the way You would.  Thanks for granting me the spiritual eyes to see and the spiritual ears to hear so that I can truly be and do all that You have for me to be and do.  In Jesus’ name, amen.

Things to Think, Pray and Journal About

1.  Do you contribute to God’s work in your fellowship or to other ministries because you feel you have to or because you truly wants to support and help?

2.  What’s your reaction when you see someone who’s homeless or in need of some kind of help?  What do you do?

3.  How quick are you to judge?

4.  How compassionate and patient are you?

copyright 2014, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are anointed and ordained by God to help believers endure to the end and to help believers live His love.
This entry was posted in bible study, Christian meditation, Christian teaching, God's love, living spiritually, prayer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

