Weariness is tough, but God makes a way, #3

Our sweet Jesus offers help that no person can give.  What He’s saying  in Matthew 11:28-30 is that your load will seem lighter even if there are no changes in your circumstances.  Not only that, He offers to trade yokes: your heavy one for His lighter one.

We know that the Christian life is not easy.  Jesus knows that, too.  He gives us ways to cope so that we can move forward and break free in spite of what’s going on in our lives.  Choose to focus on the work God has forgiven you to do while releasing your burden to Jesus and trust God to supply all that you need not only for basic requirements like food, shelter and clothing but whatever you need to deal with what’s troubling you.  Sometimes, it’s a matter of serenity prayer living:  giving to God what you can’t handle by yourself and keeping the things you can change, realizing he’s equipped you to be able to do so.

Hang onto Jesus, the Father and the Holy Spirit when life gets hard.  They promise to lighten your load as long as you bear theirs.

Encouraging Scripture: Matthew 11:28-30

Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.

Let’s Pray

Father God, please help me during this time when I feel so drained.  It takes so much strength just to do the simple, ordinary things I do each day.  My mind is not clear, so I can’t think and pray like I normally do.  I ask You, Jesus and God the Holy Spirit to clear my mind and grant me all that I need to break free from this troubling time.  Thanks for being there for me always, and thanks for not only hearing my prayer but answering it according to Your love, timing and plan for my life.  In Jesus’ name, amen.

Things to Think, Pray and Journal About

1.  Did you know you don’t have to walk the Christian walk alone?  Did yo know you can always ask for help and guidance no matter what’s going on?

2.  Did you know that doing something loving for someone can ease your weariness?  Is there someone you know who needs encouragement? How can you help? Can you visit or pray?

Copyright 2014, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

 

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are anointed and ordained by God to help believers endure to the end and to help believers live His love.
This entry was posted in bible study, Christian teaching, coping with weariness, overwhelmed, prayer, rely on God, spiritual coping tool, spiritual encouragement, spiritual teaching and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

