Divorce is tough, but God makes a way, #3

Jesus turned to the Father in all His times of need, which included strengthening and encouraging Him when none of those who followed Him knew how to be there for Him.  No time was more evident than just before His sacrifice, when He struggled with doing and being what the Father had Him to do and be on the cross and His very human emotions surrounding His sacrificial act for us all.  His disciples were unable to comprehend or even deal with the enormity of what lay before Jesus, and the unknowingly let Him down when He needed them the most.

God wants you to know He is here for you and understands what you are going through even when others seem clueless.  He wants you to seek Him often, and He wants to be there for you just like He w as there for Jesus.  God has many characteristics and descriptions, but being love to you when you need Him is so very important to Him.  Call out to the Father of mercies and the God of all comfort.  He hears your prayers.

 

Encouraging Scripture: 2Corinthians 1:3

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of Mercies and the God of all Comfort.

Let’s Pray

Father God, I am trying to recover from the pain and loss of divorce, and I need Your help, comfort and encouragement.  You know how divorce changes life, and others who called me friend are not so comfortable around me.  I feel lonely, upset, angry, betrayed and so very sad, sometimes all at once.  I know grief makes my emotions swing wildly, and I need You as my anchor now more than ever.  Please stabilize my emotions and heal my hurting heart with Your love, comfort and care.  Help me to love myself and to forgive myself for thinking wild thoughts during this time of turmoil.  Help me to be gentle with myself and please grant me the patience and stamina to endure the aftereffects of divorce and to accept the time that it takes for me to recover and move on with my life.  In Jesus’ name, amen.

Things to Think, Pray and Journal About

1.  Are you able to call out to the Father, Jesus and the Holy Spirit when you need strengthening and encouraging?  Do you know they listen for your cry?

2.  Are you angry at God for letting you go through such pain and suffering?  Have you told Him about it?  Did you know you are not sinning by being angry at God but are being real and authentic?

copyright 2014, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are anointed and ordained by God to help believers endure to the end and to help believers live His love.
This entry was posted in bible study, Christian meditation, Christian teaching, coping with divorce, depression, discouraged, divorce, rely on God, spiritual encouragement, spiritual teaching and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

