Divorce is tough, but God makes a way, #2

It’s sad that believers judge other believers instead of being there for them and bearing their burdens during hard times.  That’s what happened to Job after his formerly blessedly silent “friends” opened their mouths.  They tried to find the cause of Job’s circumstances and, instead of comforting and encouraging him, they judged him harshly.  God asked Job to intercede for his friends when he released Job from those horrible times because Job never lost his right standing in God’s eyes, and it was the “friends” who sinned and needed atonement.

You may have been judged harshly, too.  Jesus’ words in Matthew 7:1-3 apply to those who have hurt and betrayed you in this way, too.  Sadly, the death of a marriage often results in the loss of other relationships as well.  God is not only your judge but your defender, friend, comforter, counselor and encourager.  You can count on Him to be there for you always.  Jesus said it, and you can believe it.

Encouraging Scripture: Matthew 7:1-3

Judge not, that you be not judged.  For with what judgment  you judge, you will be judged, and with the same measure you use, it will be measured back to you.  And why do you look at the speck in your brother’s eye, but do not consider the plank in your own eye?

Let’s Pray

Father God, others that call themselves Yours have judged me because I am divorced.  They say i have sinned even though I did not have a marriage and my former spouse hurt me terribly.  You know whether I have been abused or betrayed. You know whether I have been abused or betrayed.  You know whether my former spouse was willing to make changes so that our marriage could be healed.  You know it takes both parties working together to make any relationship work.  Help me to see divorce through Your eyes, and grant me understanding and all that I need to move forward and leave these awful feelings behind.  Father God, I am Yours, and I want to do and be what You want me to do and be.  Guide me on this hard path and make my way straight and righteous in Your eyes.  Help me to forgive those who have judged me.  In Jesus’ name, amen.

Things to Think, Pray and Journal About

1.  Have you ever suffered for righteousness’ sake and others unfairly judged you?  What happened?  Did God intervene?

2.  Did you know that even though He hates divorce, God divorced Israel because she wasn’t willing to do her part in their relationship?  See Jeremiah 3 for details.

copyright 2014, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are anointed and ordained by God to help believers endure to the end and to help believers live His love.
This entry was posted in bible study, Christian meditation, Christian teaching, coping with divorce, depression, divorce, forgiveness, prayer, rely on God, spiritual encouragement, spiritual teaching and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

