Chronic illness is tough, but God makes a way, #3

Jesus told us to give Him our burdens and take His, which He says is lighter than anything we have to bear.  You are burdened by chronic illness, and Jesus wants you to give that burden to Him.  He’s your friend, and friends share the good times as well as the bad.  You’ll feel better emotionally even if your chronic illness remains because you know you are truly not alone in your struggles.  Your being a friend to Jesus means your willingness to shoulder His burden just like He’s willing to carry yours.

He loves us so much that He died for us so that we can be in relationship with Him, the Father and the Holy Spirit forever.  He wants you to be willing to be His representative to whoever He sends across your path, and He wants you to treat them according to His law of love and His character of love, for God is love.  Ask Him to empower you on those days when your physical strength fails and He sends those needing Him to show them the way to live no matter what others’ attitudes might be.  He is here to help you be and do what He, the Father and the Holy Spirit have for you to be and do.

 

Encouraging Scripture:  1 Peter 5:7

Casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you.

Let’s Pray

Father God, I am afflicted with chronic illness, and I ask You, Jesus and the Holy Spirit to minister to my body and my discouraged heart.  I can’t physically do the things I would like to do, and I don’t receive comfort and encouragement from those who supported me when my illness began.  Help me to love them and to forgive them because they don’t know how much moire I need them than I did in the beginning of my troubles.  Thanks for being there for me and giving me what I need and never stopping like those others have.  Thanks for granting me the power and the strength to do and be what You have for me to do and be so that I can move beyond this chronic illness and its limitations.  In Jesus’ name, amen.

Things to Think, Pray and Journal About

1.  Have you asked God to help you recover from the emotional wounds caused by your illness?

2.  Have you been able to forgive yourself for not being able to do things the way you used to?  Have you accepted where you are now physically?

copyright 2014, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are ordained spiritual leaders and skilled, trained Christian counselors who have been God's instruments in making a difference in many believers' lives. God has led us to write an emotional and spiritual recovery workbook for Christians that's been widely praised by respected spiritual leaders like Joni Eareckson Tada. Contact us if you want a copy. We have just a few left from the second printing.
This entry was posted in bible study, Christian meditation, Christian teaching, chronic illness, depression, discouraged, forgiveness, prayer, rely on God, spiritual encouragement, spiritual teaching and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

