Chronic illness is tough, but God makes a way, #2

It’s easy to feel overwhelmed when you live with chronic illness.  Things that were easy to accomplish in the past seem like monumental tasks now.  The good news is that God is always there for you in ways you need.  He is there to strengthen you, to shelter you, to comfort you, and to encourage you.

When you are not able, God is!  If there’s something He’s given you to do that you feel like you can’t because of your illness, ask Him for His will. wisdom and empowering.  Sometimes, His plans change, and you don’t need to do anything.  Sometimes, God wants to see your willingness to do and be what He would have you do and be regardless os your physical inabilities.  Sometimes, God will work miracles and grant you what you need to do whatever He wants you to do.

 

Encouraging Scripture

Hear my cry, O God;  attend to my prayer.  From the end of the earth I will cry to You.  When my heart is overwhelmed; lead me to the rock that is higher than I.  For You have been a shelter to me.

Let’s Pray

Father God, I am chronically ill and need Your help to cope with the bad days.  I need comfort and encouragement and feel betrayed that those around me tend to get tired of my illness and bad days and don’t offer hope and help like they used to.  I don’t mean to complain, but sometimes things get so bad, I don’t know what else to share.  I feel like I can’t be real with my feelings and that I have to act like others want me to be.  Thanks for being there and hearing me as I am and loving me anyway.  Thanks for giving me hope and strength to endure the path You’ve chosen for me.  Thanks for helping and empowering me to be and do all that You have for me to be and do in spite of this chronic illness that so diminishes me.  In Jesus’ name, amen.

Things to Think, Pray and Journal About

1.  How can being committed to living Matthew 6:33 give you peace and fulfillment?

2.  Have you lived the Serenity Prayer?  How did you feel about your physical limits or inabilities?

3.  If God’s plan for you release from chronic illness is for after this physical life, can you accept His timing and purpose and move on to be and do what you can still be and do for Him?

4.  Have you called out “Jesus, help!”  when your days get bad?

copyright 2014, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are anointed and ordained by God to help believers endure to the end and to help believers live His love.
This entry was posted in betrayal, bible study, Christian meditation, Christian teaching, chronic illness, depression, disability, discouraged, prayer, rely on God, spiritual encouragement, spiritual teaching and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

