Disability is tough, but God makes a way

The Apostle Paul sure knew what it was like to have responsibilities that were hampered by disability.  We don’t know exactly what Paul’s disability was, but we suspect it had something to do with his eyes.  Paul persisted in asking Jesus to heal him, and it was only upon Jesus’ “no” that he stopped and accepted that his disability was something he had to endure, to live with.

Could it be Jesus knew Paul was so capable and gifted a man that, if he didn’t have to depend on others for help to do what he couldn’t do for himself, instead of relying on God’s power, he might have relied on his own ability, not realizing what he was doing?  Would he have been able to realize God’s power and strength in the face of his weakness?  Could he have been able to say wholeheartedly, “When I am not able, God is”?

Encouraging Scripture: 2 Corinthians 12:8-10

Concerning this thing I pleaded with the Lord three times that it might depart from me.  And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness”.  Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.  Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake.  For when I am weak, then I am strong.

Let’s Pray

Father God, my body doesn’t work like it should, and that makes my days very hard to go through.  Help me to accept Your plan and purpose for my life.  I know that You promise to heal me, but You didn’t promise how much and when.  You know what’s best, whether You heal me partially or completely now or in the future or after this physical life is over.  Help me to transcend my inabilities to put to use those passions and abilities You have planted in my heart, that purpose You have for my life as I strive to be and do all that You have for me to be and do.  In Jesus’ name, amen.

Things to Think, Pray and Journal About

1.  Have you asked God to help you transcend your disability so you can do and be what He has for you to do and be?

2.  Would you be as effective without your disability as you are with it?

3.  How does knowing God takes up where you leave off make you feel?  Did you know God can provide helpers to do what you can’t?

4.  How is being disabled a blessing spiritually?

Copyright 2014, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are ordained spiritual leaders and skilled, trained Christian counselors who have been God's instruments in making a difference in many believers' lives. God has led us to write an emotional and spiritual recovery workbook for Christians that's been widely praised by respected spiritual leaders like Joni Eareckson Tada. Contact us if you want a copy. We have just a few left from the second printing.
This entry was posted in bible study, Christian meditation, Christian teaching, disability, prayer, rely on God, spiritual encouragement, spiritual teaching and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

