Betrayal is tough, but God makes a way, #3

How well David knew he could count on God!  God had delivered him once again from Saul’s deadly intentions and pursuit.  This David that scripture names “a man after God’s own heart” did not seek his own justice but instead did whatever God told him to do and waited on God’s timing for deliverance.  David did nothing to incur Saul’s desire to kill him.  He treated Saul with respect, and he comforted and encouraged Saul during his down times.  He faithfully led the armies Saul entrusted him with.  And, and, and!

David was a clear example of someone who did everything right with the right attitude and, because of someone else’s betrayal and abuse of his good intentions, suffered greatly anyway.  God doesn’t promise freedom from this kind of violence and betrayal.  He does promise to avenge us and provide for our needs as long as we live Matthew 6:33.  What was important to God was important to David, and God rewarded David for his faithfulness and steadfastness by fulfilling His promise to David when Samuel anointed him as king.

 

Encouraging Scripture  2Samuel 22:2-3

And he said, “The Lord is my rock, my fortress and deliverer;  the God of my strength, in Him I will trust, my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold and my refuge, my Savior.  You save me from violence.

Let’s Pray

Father God, betrayal has ended my relationship is a sudden and intensely emotional way.  My confidential sharing of thoughts, feelings and ideas has been violated and used against me.  Thanks Jesus for the account of Your life while among us that shows You personally understand the pain and consequences of betrayal.  Help me to rely upon You, the father and the Holy Spirit above all else and help me to believe that I can count on You and all that You are and that You will never let me down.  Thanks for being with me always as my trustworthy companion in good and bad times. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Things to Think, Pray and Journal about

1.  Have you asked God to help you remain faithful to Him in spite of you feelings and the one who betrayed you?

2.  Have you asked God to help you not to betray Him like so many others have in the past?

3.  Have you asked God to use your pain for the good to help, comfort and encourage someone else who has been betrayed?

copyright 2014, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are ordained spiritual leaders and skilled, trained Christian counselors who have been God's instruments in making a difference in many believers' lives. God has led us to write an emotional and spiritual recovery workbook for Christians that's been widely praised by respected spiritual leaders like Joni Eareckson Tada. Contact us if you want a copy. We have just a few left from the second printing.
This entry was posted in abuse, abuse recovery, betrayal, bible study, Christian meditation, Christian teaching, prayer, rely on God, spiritual encouragement, spiritual teaching and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

