Abuse is tough, but God makes a way, #3

Praise and bless Jesus for being about the Father’s business.  Not only did He give his life on the cross so we can be with Him, the Father and all those in the Kingdom of light forever, He came to set those free who are imprisoned by physical disability or other circumstances.  In addition, there are some who have been called to minister to you and others like you.  We pray God sends some of these safe, loving, skilled gifted servants across your path to provide what you need, be it comfort and encouragement or a place of safety to escape your abuser.

We pray God grants you extra wisdom and courage to do what you know you need to do to free yourself.  We pray you keep close to Him, seeking Him daily and multiple times within the day to receive His power and strength to take up where you leave off.

Encouraging Scripture: Luke 4:18

The Spirit of the Lord is upon Me, because he has anointed Me to preach the Gospel to the poor.  He has sent Me to heal the brokenhearted, to preach deliverance to the captives and recovery of sight to the blind, to set at liberty those who are oppressed.

Let’s Pray

Father God, help me to realize that because I’m the victim of abuse, it doesn’t mean I have to stay this way.  I know I need to recover from this terrible time in my life, and I know that I need to break free from the one who abused me so that I can move on to be and do what You have for me to be and do.  Help me to live Your law of love, and help me to learn what it means to love myself.  Grant me the courage to change the things that I can, and grant me the balance and wisdom to leave those other things for You that I can’t do myself.  Thanks for freeing me from not only this situation but the thoughts and feelings that come with it.  In Jesus’ name, amen.

Things to Think, Pray and Journal About

1.  Do you know how to love yourself the way God wants?  How can leaving your abuser picture that?

2.  Did you know you can’t reason with your abuser?  Your abuser’s behavior is a choice only he or she can control.  Nothing you do or say or don’t do or don’t say can change that.

3.  Did you know you did nothing to deserve how your abuser treats you?  Did you know your abuser doesn’t know how to be love as God is love?

copyright 2014, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are anointed and ordained by God to help believers endure to the end and to help believers live His love.
This entry was posted in abuse, bible study, Christian meditation, Christian teaching, prayer, rely on God, spiritual encouragement, spiritual teaching and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

