Abuse is tough, but God makes a way, #2

Jesus is our Savior, our Lord and our Protector.  He does save us from violence, but you have a part to play, too.  Being in an abusive situation means that you are in a dangerous situation, and you need to make decisions and choices that lead to your protecting yourself.  Victims usually have low self-esteem, and it’s hard to love yourself the way God wants when your abuser keeps putting you down, either by verbal or physical violence.  God can and will take up where you leave off, but He wants to know what you want.  Do you want to remain in a situation where you get hurt, or do you want to be safe and move on with your life while recovering from the trauma of abuse?

We pray you will make the right choices and ask and trust God to send safe helpers across your path who will be His instruments in providing a safe place for you to begin again.

 

Encouraging Scripture: 2 Samuel 22:2-3

The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer;  the God of my strength, in Him I will trust, my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold and my refuge;  my Savior, You save me from violence.

Let’s Pray

Father God, I have been victimized by abuse.  You know who my abuser is, and I ask that You protect me from being harmed ever again.  Help me to make right, wise choices regarding the abuse situation, and please grant me the courage and strength to do for myself what is necessary.  If I need to leave, please provide a safe place to go.  Whatever changes I need to make for my safety, please help me to make them.  Please surround me with comforters and encouragers and please grant me what I need so I can see whether they are indeed safe.  Thanks for being there for me and helping me to break free from this situation and its effect on me so I can move on to be and do all that You have for me to be and do.  In Jesus’ name, amen.

Things to Think, Pray and Journal About

1.  Did you know that staying in a dangerous place with an abuser means you have made a choice?  If that’s really not what you want, can you ask God for His help to free you from your abuser?

2.  Did it occur to you that you need to discover why you have chosen to have these abusers in your life?   Can you ask God to help you make right, wise choices and provide safe counselors to support and guide your recovery process?

copyright 2014, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All rights Reserved

 

 

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are ordained spiritual leaders and skilled, trained Christian counselors who have been God's instruments in making a difference in many believers' lives. God has led us to write an emotional and spiritual recovery workbook for Christians that's been widely praised by respected spiritual leaders like Joni Eareckson Tada. Contact us if you want a copy. We have just a few left from the second printing.
This entry was posted in abuse, bible study, Christian meditation, Christian teaching, prayer, rely on God, spiritual encouragement, spiritual teaching and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Abuse is tough, but God makes a way, #2

Leave a Reply

