Unemployment is tough, but God makes a way

Losing a job hurts you in more ways than financially.  You might feel a loss of self-esteem, and you might be wondering about your skills, training and gifting to do the work you have done so far.  One thing you will never lose is God’s love for you, and you can believe He is here for you 24/7 to support, encourage and help you in ways that you need.

It’s times like this that you need to focus on what you can do, and that’s what God wants you to do.  You can do all the things job seekers do:  create resumes, apply at various places and go on interviews.  What you can do that unbelievers can’t is involve God in your job search,  Ask for His help, leading, guidance and intervention as well as His perfect timing to provide you with the job you are well suited for.  Ask Him to show you the place and people that are right for you along with the job.  Start each day with prayer and share your thoughts and feelings with Him.  Ask for wisdom, strengthening and all that you need to make it through this tough time in your life.  Our God not only hears but answers prayers!

Encouraging Scripture: Psalm 56:3 & 4b

Whenever I am afraid, I will trust in You.  I will not fear.  What can flesh do to me?

Let’s Pray

Father God, I have lost my job and have had a hard time finding another one.  Sometimes I feel hopeless and discouraged, and I ask You, Jesus and the Holy Spirit to minister to and encourage me.  Help me to live and embrace Jesus’ promise and teaching to me in Matthew 6:33, where He says that You will provide for my needs as long as I seek Your righteousness and kingdom first.  Teach me what You mean by Your righteousness and what You mean by seeking Your kingdom first.  Help me to rely upon You and not myself or others.  Thanks for not only hearing this prayer but answering it as I know You are.  In Jesus’ name, amen.

Things to Think, Pray and Journal About

1.  Did you know God has a plan and purpose for your life that transcends the loss of your job?

2.  Have you asked God to equip you with all that you need so you can do your part in finding employment?

3.  Have you asked God for comforters and encouragers to support you when you need them?

copyright 2013, Pastors George and Sharon Billington, All Rights Reserved

About christiancounselorpastor

We are partners in marriage and ministry and are anointed and ordained by God to help believers endure to the end and to help believers live His love.
This entry was posted in bible study, Christian meditation, Christian teaching, rely on God, spiritual encouragement, spiritual teaching, Uncategorized, unemployment and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

